Gamebase 64 Forum

RegisterRegister Log inLog in

GB Enterprise in jGameBase ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    -= GB64 Forum =- Forum Index -> The GameBase Frontend
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 249
GB64-Points: 250
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:41 am    Post subject: GB Enterprise in jGameBase ? Reply with quote

Hi,

a "friend" want to use my GB EP in jGameBase, but he has no luck with it.......

Does anyone use the jGameBase, and can give some infos ?

Maybe it's because the GB EP was wriiten for GBv1.3 ?

It seems he has problems to read the *.mdb file

Is there a way to convert the *.mdb to "GBv1.2 standard" (if this is the trick, to run the GB EP in jgamebase)

btw.
i think my friend use linux, so he can't use GBv1.3
And i use widows only, so i can't test jgamebase.

p.s.
the "friend" is Attus !
(Enterprise Enthusiast and converter of many Games from ZX Spectrum to EP icon_cool.gif )
_________________
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00


Last edited by Vicman on Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
.mad.
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1170
GB64-Points: 2951
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well the basic gamebase could be converted to v1.2
games, screens, covers

but all the EXTRA gamebase v1.3 stuff would be missing...
send keys to emulator
info bar (on the left)
web links

so it would mean typing the load and run command for each game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 249
GB64-Points: 250
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi mad,
have you ever used jgamebase ?
do you know, if this would be the trick, to run the GB EP (and other GB's) in jgamebase ?
_________________
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 249
GB64-Points: 250
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*push* icon_mrgreen.gif

can someone try this on linux or similar icon_redface.gif

@mad :
How to convert the *.mdb back to GB v1.2 ?
_________________
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
.mad.
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1170
GB64-Points: 2951
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry i missed the previous post.

to convert it back to Gamebase v1.2, you will need Microsoft Access installed.
Then you can just copy and paste the columns into a v1.2 mdb file.

i haven't used J-Gamebase.
But if any v1.2 Gamebases work in it, this should also work.

the new v1.3 features would be missing, and the script would probably need altering.
and maybe a few other minor tweaks.??

it's just a case of creating it, then seeing if it works on you friends PC. icon_wink.gif

i will convert it for you if you like.
email me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 249
GB64-Points: 250
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks mad, i'll email you icon_wink.gif
_________________
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WiNeOS
New Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 3
GB64-Points: 3


PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is not necessary to convert to 1.2, latest jGameBase is V0.49DEV2010-12-23 and supports 1.3 schema.

Download from sourceforge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 249
GB64-Points: 250
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this Info, WiNeOS icon_wink.gif
_________________
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    -= GB64 Forum =- Forum Index -> The GameBase Frontend All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
Cannot post new topics
Cannot reply to topics
Cannot edit your posts
Cannot delete your posts
Cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

The C64 Banner Exchange
The C64 Banner Exchange

gb64.com ©1997-2010 The GB64 Team