Gamebase 64 Forum

RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    -= GB64 Forum =- Forum Index -> GB64 Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:41 pm    Post subject: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive! Reply with quote

Hello to everyone!
Today I have decided to install the new gamebase v1.3 (not the upgrade, I have done an ex-novo installation). I have done everything ok step-by step, but I'm not able to launch any compressed game file anymore, because a window pop UP and tell me: 7-zip failed to unpack archive "name of the rom" to "temp dir\0". I have tried EVERYTING !!! ;( Can anyone tell me how I can solve this issue?
Thanks a lot in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
.mad.
Elite Member
Elite Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1233
GB64-Points: 3014
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are talking about gamebase 64 gbc_v07.
Have you tried this setup

http://www.gb64.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4622&sid=f528601da246dae9b2eb3cfb46342a49

---
i need more info to help you.

which gamebase?
c64, speccy, amstrad

what are you settings?
show me all .ini files.

where do you have it installed ? C: D: E: F
what OS - win7, XP

check to see if the game archive is actually corrupt.

is the 7z.dll and 7z.exe in the Gamebase program folder?

reinstall 7zip (removing any old unzip programs first)

---
But it sounds like 7zip instead of the emulator is running the file.

edit
EMULATORS.INI

make sure .7z .zip .rar and other archive formats are removed from any of the supported file types.

this will try (and fail) to load a game ZIP as the Disk image or ROM in the emulator, instead of extracting and running it.

SupportedTypes=d64;crt;tap;t64
--

run gamebase
from menu select TOOLS / FRONTEND OPTIONS
change TEMPORY PATH to C:\GBGAME
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello and thanks for the fast reply!
So now I'm a little bit confused!
What is the correct sequence of the installation?

1) Install the Gamebase v1.3 (I use Vista32, so I do not install it in C.\Program Files Folder);
2) Install GBC v0.7 inside the Gamebase dir;
3) Copy all the ready files suggested in your mentioned thread inside the gamebase dir and replace/overwrite old files?
Or the ready files must be copied inside the GBC v0.7 dir?
I see too much duplicate files in both dirs .. I wish to do a clean installation, so please help me step by step .. thanks a lot!

Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
.mad.
Elite Member
Elite Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1233
GB64-Points: 3014
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you have your gamebase files backed up, you can start again from fresh. Uninstall Gamebase and delete folders.

1) Download the latest version of Gamebase
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gamebase/files/gamebase/v1.3/gamebase-setup-v1.3-full.exe/download

2) Install Gamebase (v1.3)
*you might need to run GBRegRun.exe afterwards

3) copy/extract gbc_v07 (already setup) to that Install DIR
overwrite ALL files if you have to.
gamebase path should look like this
c:\gamebase\gbc_v07\gbc_v07.mdb

4) extract the gamebase64v07.zip file (5GB)
to the same gbc_v07 DIR

5) check the INI Files
Emulators.ini
Paths.ini
MusicPlayers.ini

so they have the correct paths to where you extracted it.
all are setup to C:\GAMEBASE\GBC_V07

6) run gamebase and from TOOLS menu select
Verify Available Files...

7) play some games.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear friend, thanks for Your patience.
I followed Your inputs step by step, but ant the end of Your instructions, when I try lo launch GBregrun.exe or Gamebase.exe, a message like this pop up:

There are no gamebase folders to choose from!
Please use the Gamebase toolbox to create a new database.

If I try so, I'm forced to create another database with a name of my choice, and inside that dir will be created a new .mdb file and three new dirs, INI FILES, GEMUS SCRITPS and TEXT FILES ...
I think that something is gone wrong ...
What I can do now?

Cheers.

Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
.mad.
Elite Member
Elite Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1233
GB64-Points: 3014
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think you must have unpacked the folders incorrectly.

the "GBC_V07" Folder MUST be inside the "Gamebase"
install Folder (not extracted to it).

check if there are duplicate folders e.g.
Gamebase/gbc_v07/gbc_v07

if you installed Gamebase v1.3 to c:\Gamebase\
your "gbc_v07" folder must be inside it not extracted into it.

this is wrong.
C:\GameBase\gbc_v07.mdb

this is right.
C:\GameBase\GBC_V07\gbc_v07.mdb

the DIR structure (when installed) should look like this.

C:\GameBase\Gamebase.exe
C:\GameBase\GBC_V07\gbc_v07.mdb
C:\GameBase\GBC_V07\emulators.ini
C:\GameBase\GBC_V07\Emulators\WinVICE-2.2-x86\
C:\GameBase\GBC_V07\Gfx\
C:\GameBase\GBC_V07\Games\
C:\GameBase\GBC_V07\Extras\
C:\GameBase\GBC_V07\C64Music\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear friend,
I have uninstalled, cleared and reinstalled everything.
This is the log step-by-step:


Shot of the Gamebase dir after installing Gamebase v1.3.exe:


Scripts\
7z.dll
7z.exe
BMP2GIF.EXE
BMP2PNG.EXE
Empty.mdb <- mdb file already present ??
GameBase.exe
GBFuncs.dll
GBLauncher.exe
GBRegRun.exe
GBRegRun.ini
GBSql.dll
GBText.ini
GBToolbox.exe
Gemus.dll
GemusText.ini
History.txt
License.txt
License-7-Zip.txt
PNGlib.dll
unins000.dat
unins000.exe


Shot of the Gamebase dir after unpacking GBC_v0.7 Deluxe version preconfigured:


GBC_v0.7\ <- this is the new dir depacked
Scripts\
7z.dll
7z.exe
BMP2GIF.EXE
BMP2PNG.EXE
Empty.mdb
GameBase.exe
GBFuncs.dll
GBLauncher.exe
GBRegRun.exe
GBRegRun.ini
GBSql.dll
GBText.ini
GBToolbox.exe
Gemus.dll
GemusText.ini
History.txt
License.txt
License-7-Zip.txt
PNGlib.dll
unins000.dat
unins000.exe


Shot of the content of the GBC_v0.7 dir before installing any extras/games dirs:


Emulators\
Gfx\
MusicPlayers\
Photos\
Scripts\
Sounds\
Splash\
Credits.ini
Credits.txt
Emulators.ini
GB Text.ini
GBC_V07.mdb <- another mdb file in that dir ??
gemus.dat
Info.txt
Licence.txt
MusicPlayers.ini
Paths.ini
Settings.ini
Text.ini


Shot of the content of the GBC_v0.7 dir after installing the extras/games dirs:


C64Music\ <- new SIDs dir
Emulators\
Extras\ <- new Extras dir
Games\ <- new Games dir
Gfx\
MusicPlayers\
Photos\
Screenshots\ <- new Screenshots dir
Scripts\
Sounds\
Splash\
Credits.ini
Credits.txt
Emulators.ini
GB Text.ini
GBC_V07.mdb
gemus.dat
Info.txt
Licence.txt
MusicPlayers.ini
Paths.ini
Settings.ini
Text.ini

... now change the correct paths to:

- EMULATORS.ini
- PATHS.ini
- MUSICPLAYERS.ini


Now everything should be OK, so I try to start GBRegRun.exe
or Gamebase.exe ... but his popup appear again:


There are no gamebase folders to choose from!
Please use the Gamebase toolbox to create a new database.

I don't understand what is wrong .. please help me!

Regards.

Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
K.C.
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 382
GB64-Points: 384
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The name of the .MDB file must be the same as the folder it's located in.
This folder must be a subfolder of the GameBase program folder.

It looks like your problem is in the name of this subfolder.
According to your list, the folder name is GBC_v0.7 and the name of the .MDB file is GBC_V07.MDB.

Rename the folder GBC_v0.7 to GBC_V07 and everything should be OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, and this was the main problem .. Your tip solved it!
But now I have the BIG problem: when I try to load a game X, a popup window appear:

7-zip failed to unpack archive I:\Users\emulators & ROMs\Commodore 64\Gamebase\GBC_v07\Games\m2\MISOCCER_04802_01.zip to c:\0

I do not understand what it mean!
I have uninstalled the other 7-zip windows version compressor, I have only a WinRAR installed on this machine ...

Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
K.C.
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 382
GB64-Points: 384
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, strange...
In GameBase 1.3 there's a new option to choose the location where GameBase extracts compressed game files to. Maybe it has something to do with this option. Give this a try:
  • Your GameBase program folder should contain the files 7Z.EXE and 7Z.DLL. Verify if these files exist.
  • Create a folder somewhere on your harddisk where GameBase can extract compressed game archives to. The default is C:\GBGame.
    Ensure you have write permissions to this folder.
  • In the GameBase frontend, click Tools and choose Frontend Options.
  • Under 'GBGame' temporary game-file extraction folder, browse to the folder you created in the previous step.
  • Click OK
  • Try starting a game again

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
I know the switch .. It was the first thing that I have tried .. anyway nobody happens.
In Gamebase 1.2 everything works great, but in Gamebase 1.3 I'm not able to play anything ;(
There is the possibility to use another unpacker, or use the games directly unpacked?
I do not see other solutions ... ;(

Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
K.C.
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 382
GB64-Points: 384
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you can try to move the GameBase folder from I:\Users\emulators & ROMs\Commodore 64\Gamebase to I:\GameBase, or - even better - to C:\GameBase.

It looks like GameBase is trying to extract files to the root of drive C:, maybe Windows it preventing creating files and folders at that location.

Can you post the contents of GameBase.ini, located in your GameBase program folder?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes here it is:

[Startup]
VersionCheck=1
SendUsageStats=1
[Paths]
GBGame=i:\Users\Emulators & ROMs\Commodore 64\GameBase\Temp


Please note that I have tried to locate the temp dir everywhere in my system (last one, in a temp dir inside gamebase folder), and I have 14 different units !!!

Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note that the 7zip try to decomprime the file in a subdir called "0", so the searching path for the 7-zip become c:\temp\0.
I have tried to make the "0" dir manually, but nobody change, except that the "0" dir is missed !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minamoto kobayashi
New Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 36
GB64-Points: 36


PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

.. and this is REALLY strange: I have tried to substitute the 7z.exe with a couple of programs, like other packers, utilities and ... games! Well, I have no words: Gamebase do not recognise any changing to the file!! It means that EVERY program renamed 7z.exe is accepted from Gamebase, and returned also the same error! At this point I think that somewhat in my register is broken. I have hunted and deleted ANY 7-zip reference in my windows register, but the problem persist .. ;(((
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    -= GB64 Forum =- Forum Index -> GB64 Help! All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
Cannot post new topics
Cannot reply to topics
Cannot edit your posts
Cannot delete your posts
Cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

The C64 Banner Exchange
The C64 Banner Exchange

gb64.com ©1997-2014 The GB64 Team