Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Many questions about GameBase

Discuss GameBase, the Universal Emulator Frontend!

Moderator: Jimbo

ballez
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:52 pm

Many questions about GameBase

Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:28 am

Hi!

I'm new on GameBase. I try it for some days and it's very great! But I have some questions.

I've already, by the past, downloaded some Roms Sets for my Hyperspin frontend. So I have a problem with the NES GameBase database for example. The name of the rom in the database (in .zip if I remember) and mine from my previous romset (in .nes) doesn't match.
How can i modify it ?

I would like to put all my gamebase in one folder (GameBase/Systems/System1 for example). For the moment it's in the root of GameBase folder. So, I have GameBase files and some folders of differents systems. It's disgracious :)

That's all for the moment.

Sorry for my english, I'm french.

Congrats for all of this, it's juste great !
Last edited by ballez on Sat Nov 16, 2013 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:07 pm

gamebase must use it's own folders format.
they will not work without them.

for example

Folder "SEGA CD"
needs the gamebase mdb file to be named exactly the same.
SEGA CD.MDB (including the space)

example of gamebase folders.

Image

Image

ALL gamebases need the same file and folder setup.
putting gamebase folders within folders will just mess it up.
They will not be found when running gamebase.exe.
ballez
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:52 pm

Sat Nov 16, 2013 2:20 pm

Okay thanks a lot !
ballez
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:52 pm

Sat Nov 16, 2013 2:24 pm

Sorry, but I have another question.

I have downloaded SNES Gamebase but there is no Roms in this.

I've already the Full Romset for SNES from precedent DL.

Is that possible to match GameBase bdd with mine ?

Do I have to put all my previous SNES Roms in different folder (for example S\Super Mario.snes) ?
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:05 pm

ballez wrote: I have downloaded SNES Gamebase.

I've already the Full Romset for SNES from precedent DL.
Is that possible to match GameBase bdd with mine ?
Only if you have the romcenter.dat /CLRMAMEPro.dat file.

If you don't have the DAT then you will have to re-link every file in the gamebase.

however...
The SNES ROMs are very common and are probably only going to be renamed in the GoodSNES 2.04 or NO-Intro format for the gamebase.

try renaming your roms with those tools, check if the files are SMC, SFC, and what extension the gamebase is looking for.
ZIP, 7z, RAR.

if you upload the mdb, i might be able to make a dat for you.
at least for 90% of the roms.
ballez
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:52 pm

Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:35 pm

OK, it's very kind!

I will check for this.

I'm new on GameBase and I try to understand all on this. I saw tutorials and Help section but I have to read again !

I downloaded a maximum of systems for GameBase but I think it's difficult tom find them. Many of links are down and there is no torrents (or not very much) for this.

Do you have some links ? I'd like to have a maximum of systems for my GameBase.

Thanks a lot for your help !
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:41 pm

ballez wrote: Do you have some links ? I'd like to have a maximum of systems for my GameBase.
We are working on it!.
Hopefully ALL GameBases will have a home soon.
ballez
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:52 pm

Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:07 pm

Great!

I think sharing theses bases on public torrent tracker could be a good thing.

I'll check this forum!

Thx again.

Return to “The GameBase Frontend”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest