Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

MegadriveMania (New Megadrive Gamebase) V2 Released!

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

Hidron
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: USA
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:05 pm

Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:28 pm

taulore wrote:Just downloaded this fabulous gamebase but having problems downloading Remixes.part16.

It keeps coming up with an error. Any chance of re-uploading it?
It downloaded fine for me in JDownloader, and I haven't seen any other posts about problems with it. If you are using your web browser to download it, you may try clearing the browser's cache files and retrying. If the download was corrupted during the download process, it seems the cache will keep redownloading the same corrupt content.

If the problem is with un-raring, you might try updating whatever program you use to un-rar them.

Otherwise, at what point are you seeing this error, and what is the error?
I have a lot of respect for Gamebase creators, maintainers & supporters.
taulore
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:34 pm

Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:07 pm

Hidron wrote:
taulore wrote:Just downloaded this fabulous gamebase but having problems downloading Remixes.part16.

It keeps coming up with an error. Any chance of re-uploading it?
It downloaded fine for me in JDownloader, and I haven't seen any other posts about problems with it. If you are using your web browser to download it, you may try clearing the browser's cache files and retrying. If the download was corrupted during the download process, it seems the cache will keep redownloading the same corrupt content.

If the problem is with un-raring, you might try updating whatever program you use to un-rar them.

Otherwise, at what point are you seeing this error, and what is the error?
Cheers for the help. I cleared my cache and everything downloaded fine.
User avatar
Paul Irvine
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:06 am

Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:22 pm

Would some kind soul please post

2966 Cover (USA) Box\Z\ZAMN_MD_US_Box.jpg 1095 Zombies/Zombies Ate My Neighbors

Only bit I'm missing

Many thanks...
-------
Visit my blog.. http://mclaneinc.wordpress.com/
subone
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:42 pm

Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:44 pm

Paul Irvine wrote:Would some kind soul please post

2966 Cover (USA) Box\Z\ZAMN_MD_US_Box.jpg 1095 Zombies/Zombies Ate My Neighbors

Only bit I'm missing

Many thanks...
yes i have them ... is Zombies Ate My Neighbors is the jpg file from Box folder too ? ... post your verify file if u can.
User avatar
Paul Irvine
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:06 am

Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:43 am

That is the line from the verify file, its just being two parted by the lack of space in the msg box..

I only wanted it for completeness, there's actually a cover scan in there, I'll probably just copy the file and name it as per the missing so to fix the issue..
-------
Visit my blog.. http://mclaneinc.wordpress.com/
subone
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:42 pm

Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:37 pm

Here are the two files missing.
Put them in Extras\Box\Z folder

Code: Select all

https://mega.nz/#!1doXzbZK!05WMbIOJ6nSm_vkMVwd_e0tILLNiXb7Wd5nfnZZAkU8
User avatar
Paul Irvine
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:06 am

Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:13 pm

Just grabbed them, thank you..

Paul..
-------
Visit my blog.. http://mclaneinc.wordpress.com/
minamoto kobayashi
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:44 am

Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:55 am

This collection is a MUST .. thank You very much a million!
I have just replaced my old Genesis "420" collection with this one from You, and I was very pleased to found an old japanese platform game that I played and loved very much many many years ago: "Wani Wani World" :lol:
Just my 5 cent: the games "Bubsy: claws encounters of the furred things" and "Battle squadron" do not works with Kega Fusion: the main screen is without titles, animations and options, and do not accept any input command.
The games works fine with Gens, that in my modest opinion is a more compatible emulator with some nice options such as "scan line + interpolation". 8)
User avatar
Paul Irvine
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:06 am

Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:42 am

I'll have a look at Bubsy and Battle Squadron, I'm more betting bad dump or another issue as Fusion is by far the best and most accurate emulator out there. The author is Steve Snake who if you like NBA JAM on the MD will sound familiar as he's the guy who did the arcade port for the MD. I've also had the pleasure of making some furniture for him and saw his dev kit for the MD, really lovely bloke.

Any way, I'll take a look and come back to you...
-------
Visit my blog.. http://mclaneinc.wordpress.com/
User avatar
Paul Irvine
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:06 am

Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:16 am

Just had a look and it seems to be an issue with the Fusion.ini file in the Fusion 3.50 directory in the emulators directory in the gamebase. Also try running the Fusion.exe in that and see what the version number is at the top on the status bar, it should be 3.64(C) but I always replace the exe with my own one which has a hacked GUI.

If its 3.50 then use the link provided to get the latest version from Steve's own page,

http://www.carpeludum.com/download/Fusion364.zip

The good news is that the problem can be fixed by removing the fusion.ini file, the bad news is I don't have the time to go through it line by line to find the culprit(s) so once its removed you will need to set up the gamepad again. Just load the game from the gamebase then go to Options in Fusion, set config and controllers tab. First line is the Megadrive pad, click define and look at the bottom of the screen for prompts of what button / key you want to use for directions and buttons.

Sorry I didn't come back to you before, didn't see this...

Paul...

PS, I'm nothing to do with the Gamebase, just like to help...
-------
Visit my blog.. http://mclaneinc.wordpress.com/
minamoto kobayashi
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:44 am

Wed Mar 30, 2016 10:04 pm

Hello, thanks a lot for the reply and for the hint!
I have patiently checked every line in the .ini file and with great patience I found the problem :lol:
So first I moved the .ini in another place, then I launched the emulator, so a new .ini was created.
At this point I replaced one line at a time with the old one to found where the issue will be generated.
This is the indicted line:

Joystick2Type=4

In order to clear the issue, the value must be 1, so:

Joystick2Type=1

I do not know how this value can ruin the game .. any idea?

Thank you so much for letting me the hands-on! 8)
User avatar
Paul Irvine
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:06 am

Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:25 am

Not sure why that would cause the overall problem, I initially thought it might be setting a joystick that had rapid fire enabled but you would get stuttering if that was the case...

Just glad it got you working 100% and it also stays here if anyone else has the same issue...

By the way, best version of Battle Squadron was on the Amiga computer which was its origin computer and the SNES version of Bubsy is slightly better :)

Have fun...

Paul..
-------
Visit my blog.. http://mclaneinc.wordpress.com/

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest