Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

N64 Gamebase

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Sun Jul 29, 2018 8:06 pm

Nice.
manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:57 am

Some games, like Micro Machines 64 Turbo (marked as playable), give me Fatal error stopping emulation.
Thanks.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:38 am

manguan wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:57 am
Some games, like Micro Machines 64 Turbo (marked as playable), give me Fatal error stopping emulation.
Thanks.
the "playable" info was taken from the PJ64 emulator code.
It does work using some options with default Glide video plugin.
1 player, challenge, no save, Tricky (speed boat).

if you have a compatible gfx card, win OS and Direct X version, these video plugins work past the fatal error point.
Jabo_Direct3D6.dll
Jabo_Direct3D8.dll
manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:25 am

Thanks. Working with Jabo's D3D8. :)
Fiery Phoenix
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:07 am

Re: N64 Gamebase

Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:25 pm

Good man!
Transporter
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:03 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:13 pm

Thanks for this GB.
I have a problem. I used move.bat and fix.bat everything ok, but if rezip the rom are no longer seen by the emulator ...
There is a solution?
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:07 am

Transporter wrote:
Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:13 pm
if rezip the rom are no longer seen by the emulator ...
There is a solution?
The Gamebase was made to only use the unzipped roms.
so the error you have is correct.

This MDB version will search for ".ZIP" files containing the same .Z64 rom file.
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fi ... 9945268527
Transporter
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:03 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:50 pm

Thanks mad.
I used the new mdb, but I have the same problem ....
For example:
007 - The World is Not Enough (E) (M3) [!]. Z64 old mdb ok

007 - The World is Not Enough (E) (M3) [!]. Z64.zip new mdb does not see it ...

Ok,ok,ok....
The error is due to the double extension.
Now it is OK.

:?: :?: :?:
But now, I'm in trouble, how do I get rid of the double extension?
Manually it is impossible
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Mon Aug 06, 2018 7:21 pm

Transporter wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:50 pm
But now, I'm in trouble, how do I get rid of the double extension?
Manually it is impossible
that will be in the advanced options of your ZIP program.
re-zip them without adding the Z64 file extension to the archive name.

or run this batch file from the rom dir.

Code: Select all

RENAME *.z64.zip *.
RENAME *.z64 *.zip
User avatar
unclesid
New Member
Location: tyne and wear england
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:53 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:46 pm

In both zipped and unzipped databases the ROM file Vigilante 8 - 2nd Offence (E) [!] is unlinked
also a few screens are missing

edit removed invalid links

Many thanks .Mad for this GameBase :D
Last edited by unclesid on Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:27 am

unclesid wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:46 pm
In both zipped and unzipped databases the ROM file Vigilante 8 - 2nd Offence (E) [!] is unlinked
the Gamebase link is actually correct.
the error is with the goodtools filename. ;)

just rename the file to actual game name.
Vigilante 8 - 2nd Offense (E) [!]


I can't stand random screenshot sizes. :P

if you really want to help update the screens?
please snap them from the emulator using the included fixed glide plugin.
then all picture sizes will be uniform 640x480 or 320x240 viewed from the gamebase menu.

i had already started doing this job.
the screen file is saved as the internal rom name, so some japanese games do not save a screen due to the japanese characters in the name and some even crash the emulator when trying to snap a screen.

i have renamed all the internal rom names to numbers 001-880 in my collection so the emulator saves the screen file with the correct Gamebase ID.

if you want i can send you a batch file to edit the internal rom names (in a backup collection).
just for working on a new Hi-RES screen pack.
Attachments
Glide64_875_02.png
Glide64_875_02.png (123.9 KiB) Viewed 4802 times
User avatar
unclesid
New Member
Location: tyne and wear england
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:53 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:23 pm

Its down to the the spelling of the word Offence .The European spelling has the c and the us version has the s
So technically the goodtools version is renamed correctly for the euro Rom. :roll:

regarding the screens some i could grab but the others i couldn't get the games to run so had to google them

regards

edit:
I've been making some screen grabs is this what you are after
not loads just testing mainly Japanese games
Edit 2: Removed dead link
Last edited by unclesid on Sun Aug 19, 2018 3:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:15 am

unclesid wrote:
Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:23 pm
Its down to the the spelling of the word Offence .The European spelling has the c and the us version has the s
So technically the goodtools version is renamed correctly for the euro Rom. :roll:
that still doesn't change the copyrighted / trade mark name of the game.
The spelling is 'offense', printed on the box and title screen of every console version.

Image

and yes those screen shots are much better. :D
User avatar
Uncle Sid
New Member
Location: N.E England
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:50 pm

same person as unclesid i used wrong profile :roll:

just an update

I've done all Japanese Screenshots from # to J (640 x 480) i can post link if required
ill continue with the other half and post when finished
User avatar
Uncle Sid
New Member
Location: N.E England
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Sun Aug 19, 2018 3:31 am

All screenshots completed For Japanese games
do you want the link posted here or via P.M

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests