Gamebase 64 Forum

RegisterRegister Log inLog in

GB databases running on an arcade cab (update: it works!)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    -= GB64 Forum =- Forum Index -> The GameBase Frontend
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jimbo
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 234
GB64-Points: 234


PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:16 pm    Post subject: GB databases running on an arcade cab (update: it works!) Reply with quote

A little project of mine for those that are interested...

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=98108.0

James


Last edited by Jimbo on Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbo
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 234
GB64-Points: 234


PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I've got it to work icon_smile.gif (with all GameBase databases)!

Firstly there'll be a new version of GameBase that can export the current view to a RomLister XML format. You can then import this into RomLister to generate your game lists for your favourite arcade cab frontend (yes, Maximus included!). The export function will also optionally convert your screenshots into the right format for those frontends (single folder, renamed files).

The other part is a GBLauncher app, that will take the GB database and game ID (and optional emulator choice) via command line and pass it through silently to GameBase's backend to run the game (using GEMUS), so its exactly like running the game through GameBase. GBLauncher can optionally wait for the game to finish before quitting too.

I had GB64 and GameBase Amiga up and running on my cab last night, and it rocks icon_smile.gif

I'll be ennouncing a new beta soon for those that want to try it.

Cheers
_________________
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davo
New Member


Joined: 18 Aug 2006
Posts: 43
GB64-Points: 43
Location: Melb, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent timing Jimbo!

I will be starting a project to make my own cab early in the new year. I was planning on using maximus too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tspeirs
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 4
GB64-Points: 504

GB64 Donator!

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:27 pm    Post subject: Re: GB databases running on an arcade cab (update: it works! Reply with quote

Hi Jimbo,

You might want to take a look at my post about GameEx. Its got plug and play full integration with GameBase now thanks to your latest version with GBLAuncher. It seems you like Maximus but your welcome to a GameEx license if you contact me.

Thanks a lot.
Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    -= GB64 Forum =- Forum Index -> The GameBase Frontend All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
Cannot post new topics
Cannot reply to topics
Cannot edit your posts
Cannot delete your posts
Cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

The C64 Banner Exchange
The C64 Banner Exchange

gb64.com ©1997-2010 The GB64 Team