Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

GB v1.4 Feature requests

Discuss GameBase, the Universal Emulator Frontend!

Moderator: Jimbo

User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:35 am

another yes for widescreen mode.

also when extras are show as pictures, the larger image (box covers for example) should auto-resize in scale to the smaller screenshot resolution.

at the moment the extras get cropped.
this is when custom sizes are used (not 320x200)
User avatar
Gentlegamer
New Member
Location: United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:49 am

Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:18 am

When the project starts up again, I have a request.

May we have a Game Info field for "System" or "Console" . . ? I use a single Gamebase for all the consoles I'm emulating. There is no field for System, so I cheat and put the system's name in the Publisher field, and then create filters that sort the system using the Publisher field. It would be nice if it had its own real field so I could make use of the Publisher field as intended.
User avatar
Underfly
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:46 am

Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:19 am

Gentlegamer wrote:When the project starts up again, I have a request.

May we have a Game Info field for "System" or "Console" . . ? I use a single Gamebase for all the consoles I'm emulating. There is no field for System, so I cheat and put the system's name in the Publisher field, and then create filters that sort the system using the Publisher field. It would be nice if it had its own real field so I could make use of the Publisher field as intended.
I just enter the console or system name in the Comment field at the bottom, then can list games from a certain console/system in the filters area.

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Still waiting on been able to add keywords to games, for now I worked out an alternative with the filters also.
Hooded_Claw
New Member
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:49 pm

Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:54 pm

Would it be possible to be able to download meta data for the games from the many online gaming databases? I see this in many game browsers like 'Game Collector' and think its great. I'd like to see this added into the next Gamebase.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:16 pm

some emu config files are not editable with the current gamebase commands.

gamebase could do with a Set_INI_ITEM

Set_INI_Item(1||Control||JoystickPort||2)

so we can have the following effect in the INI file: -

[Control]
JoystickPort 2 ( without = )

we can't select the [control] part of the config using Set_CFG_Item

---
some other config files have the same name duplicated.

disk - setting for 1st disk
disk - setting for 2nd disk

is there a way of detecting the order of the DISK line, so this command would work.
without overwiting the first disk setting with the second.

Set_CFG_Item(%emupath%\configfile||disk|| ||%emupath%\boot.dsk)
Set_CFG_Item(%emupath%\configfile||disk|| ||%emupath%\game.disk)

this would be a great help for emulators without command lines.

Come on Jimbo!, we need you. 8)
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Fri Mar 07, 2014 1:04 pm

Calling Jimbo...
Please HELP!.

Is there an easy way to change the Extras window splitter,
to a vertical scroller bar.

Image

Looking at the code in VB6.
It looks like the bar is called PicSplitter.

I could really do with this, as the next project has 168 extras. :shock:
Jimbo
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:50 pm

Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:12 am

168 extras??? I knew you were mad, but I didn't think you were crazy!!! :lol:

I'll try and take a look over the next week or two.
Jimbo
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:50 pm

Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:34 pm

I've just tried it .mad. and it already has a scrollbar if the items don't fit... or am I missing something?
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:19 pm

Jimbo wrote:I've just tried it .mad. and it already has a scrollbar if the items don't fit... or am I missing something?
It's me who's missing something...
Don't pay any attention to the ramblings of a .mad. man.

i didn't add enough extras, so i could not see the invisible scroll bar. :wink:

Thanks for looking at the code, maybe you got a feel for an update. :P
User avatar
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Germany
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 7:51 pm

Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:30 pm

.mad. wrote: maybe you got a feel for an update. :P
Yes.....GB-update inclusive video feature please.... :D
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
ldaneels
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:30 pm

Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:52 pm

Hi Jimbo,
I am all for it. Please update Gamebase with video support...
One last hurrah.
Thanks as always for creating Gamebase.
User avatar
Underfly
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:46 am

Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:49 am

I've given my gamebase.exe file a great enhancment, using the available source code of course for my personal perference, given mine a completely nicer skin/theme, full support for soft fonts now, better compatibilty with Windows 7 themes, and many features requested here I just did myself.

Only getting issues with video support and screenshot animation at the moment due to my lack of experience in VB6, but wondering if we can upload are own version of gamebase.exe here to people that just can't wait for a new version.

Also adding photos and more details in for the Coder/Programmer and Artist would be nice, and not just focusing on the musicians...
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:53 pm

Underfly wrote: wondering if we can upload are own version of gamebase.exe here to people that just can't wait for a new version.
Please upload, i would love to try it out. :D
Maybe you could help ironing out some of the more annoying bugs.

1) if you add a screenshot, then delete the file.
Gamebase will crash.

2) when adding a game from a folder, the first zip file is always automatically extracted.
This would be better if it waited for a mouse click or ENTER to be pressed over the file.
as having a folder of ISO's takes an age to add a new game.
as it always extracts the file you don't want first.

---
i did tweak my copy to have 32x32 icons in the tabs, but as far as my vb6 goes. :P
Jimbo
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:50 pm

Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:31 pm

Hi Underfly

Sounds great.

If you can send me the source (PM me for email address) I can take a look and perhaps merge it into the existing GB build to make a new official version.
James
millansoft
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 5:47 am

Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:46 pm

Please, maybe is fixable (dont have idea about how much complex is) the "Play Game button is disabled (grayed out) if your Windows 7/8 account isn't Administrator" is a bit anoying, anyway just asking not complaining :)

Return to “The GameBase Frontend”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests