Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Gamebase Atari 5200

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

sut
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:15 pm

Gamebase Atari 5200

Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:04 am

I'm currently working on 2 gamebases one for the Atari 5200 & one for the Atari 7800. My Gamebase Atari 5200 is closest to completion. I have all the games entered and tested, information regarding the games, lots of extras from Atari Age and the Emulator autoboots the games. I do however require some help for the finishing touches (also any suggestions to improve it) such as I cannot find any music files (although 5200 music is pretty horrid when it has any).

Heres some screenshots - follow link to Atari Age

http://www.atariage.com/forums/index.ph ... opic=96911
sut
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:15 pm

Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:22 pm

I'm getting to the stage where I need an experienced Gamebase user/programmer to help with finishing touches and perhaps hosting of the Gamebase. An Installation program which sets the correct paths and configures the emulator ready for use and I would like to find some 5200 audio files so I can make use of the 'Play Music' Tab.

So my wish list to see completion of Atari 5200 Gamebase (so far)

Installer
Audio Files
Addition of some homebrew games
Some feedback and suggestions for improvements

This has been a labour of love but my project maybe outgrowing me Since I have no programming or anything above a basic level of understanding for PC usage.
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

Gamebase Atari 5200

Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:09 pm

Hi all,

A Atari 5200 uh? sounds good. :)

If you work from program files/gamebase/Atari 5200 it's
the easiest way so when people install it(the complete folder called
"Atari 5200" in the gamebase folder all the files will be found automatic.

I guess there's no music......

Btw i am working on the same database so ..... 8)
regards
Demobase Creator

C64 Breadbin+SidFX+Ultimate1541-II+ with Tape Expansion
Vic-20+Mega Cart+Tapuino


and more....
sut
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:15 pm

Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:37 pm

Perhaps we should combine our resources ?
I am going to share my Gamebase Atari 5200 on emule in the format specified on emule. My system is normally on overnight (midnight - 7:00am) for seeding.

So if you (or anyone else would like to download it & have a gander your more than welcome).

Here's the link:
ed2k://|file|Gamebase%20Atari%205200.rar|23571802|E8927358647BCE6F7A24DAB233866684|h=R3S3XTGCQMXQTOPA43NPFODZLL6EAN7D|/
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase Atari 5200

Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:44 pm

I am on emule right now so i will check it for sure ! :D

regards
Demobase Creator

C64 Breadbin+SidFX+Ultimate1541-II+ with Tape Expansion
Vic-20+Mega Cart+Tapuino


and more....
sut
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:15 pm

v1.0 Released - follow link for information

Sun May 27, 2007 9:04 pm

sut
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:15 pm

Wed Oct 31, 2007 7:59 pm

This is now being spread on Rapidshare here is the link:

http://rapidshare.com/files/66377096/Ga ... _.rar.html

Also the upto date emule link

ed2k://|file|Gamebase Atari 5200 v1.0 (Sut 2007).rar|65127546|C3170913255172B98E8C4D8CE1BCA638|h=4PFL73H6UJWDQMAB53KP4FUR
IO7HIKE7|/

Emule is run from between 12:00AM - 5:30am (GMT)
dax
Ice Cool Member
Ice Cool Member
Location: Poland
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:45 pm

Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:27 pm

I downloaded this Gamebase long time ago, but I have problems with games:

- DEFENDER, BATTLE ZONE - ship moves down
- FROGGER - does not run forward
- GALAXIAN - flies right
- KANGAROO - moves left
- POLE POSITION - turns right
- ZAXXON - does not run at all

Default emu: Kat5200, but impossible to play with this emu (problems with steering, as above)

I added emulators: Atari800Win, Mess 0.104b, Altirra.
Created simple scripts for these emulators:
Add_CLP(%gamepathfile%)
Run_Emulator()
and of course it does not help :P


Has anyone configured it properly and plays with no problem (have proper script and emu which runs all games) ?
I love Gamebase's creators and compilations
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Fri Apr 08, 2011 12:36 am

just reinstalled this.

Frogger
player 1
use NUMPAD
2 = Up
8 = Down
4= Left
6 = Right

player 2 uses same keys but on the main keyboard.

i need to check the rest in a better emulator. :P
dax
Ice Cool Member
Ice Cool Member
Location: Poland
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:45 pm

Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:06 am

Sorry, if I waste Your time, .mad.

I don't know what is wrong with this, but others have the same problems. This is my instruction (the most important things) based on my configuration, to use Kat5200 in Gamebase Atari 5200:
Atari 5200
Default emulator: kat5200

ESC - configuration menu

----------------------
Keys in KAT5200:
----------------------
RESET - F2
START - F3
PAUSE - F4
-----------------------
Joystick as KEYBOARD:
-----------------------
moves - NUM cursors
FIRE1 - SHIFT
FIRE2 - CTRL
-----------------------
Joystick as JOYSTICK:
-----------------------
moves - cursors
FIRE1 - SHIFT
FIRE2 - CTRL
Now, on Windows 7 (even with compatibility mode) Frog can't run at all. What a .... ;). I think it would be better to create MESS script, to play it comfortable, because Atari800Win does not support .a52 files, Altirra asks for cartridge mapper:
Image
and after that shows "SELF TEST" screen. MESS does not run it with standard script (as in my previous post)
I love Gamebase's creators and compilations
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:25 pm

After a bit of digging...
the games are good dumps and emulated correctly.
the problem lies with the Analog Joystick setup.
some games have non centering analog joystick triggering tolerances.

Frogger
the control scheme the programmers used is annoying
to move you have to move the joystick in the direction you want to move then press the fire button.

Kangaroo
rotating or waggling the joystick stops the running left.
but other directions can get stuck on.

so you need a compatible Analog Joystick, or mess about with those options in the emulator.
User avatar
Paul Irvine
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:06 am

Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:49 pm

Kangaroo etc do have issues with the control scheme, its a known issue BUT like Galaxians if you set the stick up as a mouse it actually works very nicely.

Sort of bypasses the analog issue...

Setting the mode to relative gives a fine adjustment on the mouse speed.

Now if only I could stop coughing on this lovely day, all day and night for 2 days, I ache :)
-------
Visit my blog.. http://mclaneinc.wordpress.com/
dax
Ice Cool Member
Ice Cool Member
Location: Poland
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:45 pm

Fri Apr 15, 2011 3:49 am

Finally solved my problems (tnx to You both for pointing me). Maybe others use it.

Default emu in Gamebase - Kat5200 v0.4. I replaced it to the newest v0.6.2. Used PS3 SIXAXIS joypad (as J0 USB Joypad). Joy must be calibrated every time we run some games. Calibration means moving fast joy in every direction at least once.

tips for proper steering in games:
-------------------------------------
- DEFENDER, BATTLE ZONE, KANGAROO - joy needs joycalibration
- FROGGER - You must move joy in a direction + fire button
- GALAXIAN - under v0.6.2 problem does not exist
- POLE POSITION - under v0.6.2 problem does not exist
- ZAXXON - under v0.6.2 problem does not exist (it runs properly)

rest of games probably works great (tested maany of them)
I love Gamebase's creators and compilations
oknihcap
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:05 am

Thu Apr 21, 2011 5:48 pm

Thanks for posting your solution. It's always nice when others share what solved their issue so others can benefit later. There's nothing worse than finding a thread on some forum where somebody was having the same problem as you and their final response is "Never mind- I solved it" without any hint of what they did.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Mon Mar 02, 2015 6:48 pm

NEW updated version of the Atari5200 GameBase by Sut.

Image

http://www.datafilehost.com/d/9e28a217

New screens, scripts, corrected mappers and info.

Control is still an issue in Atari800.
The 2nd joystick button can not be mapped, or detected on the joypad.
For games that use the 2nd button, you have to press the SHIFT key.
The 5200 joypad has a keypad 1-9, this is mapped to the NUMPAD (turn in on) and is used for several options in games.

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests