Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Trouble setting up Gamebase64 on a mac

Are you having problems setting up GB64 on your machine? Ask your questions in here!

Moderator: Jimbo

Napstrophe
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:16 pm

Trouble setting up Gamebase64 on a mac

Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:38 pm

I downloaded GameBase64 Browser v 1.0.3 for mac as well as the gb64v08 database (games only) and all I can get is a list of games but none are available. I'm running OSX Snow Leopard so compatibility should not be an issue. Perhaps I need to change some setting? Are there any instructions available online?
Hidron
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: USA
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:05 pm

Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:34 pm

By your description it sounds like the Play Games button is not usable? The main causes for this are either the frontend can't find the game file, or there is no emulator configured in the frontend.

Have you downloaded & setup an emulator to play the games? I have no idea if the browser includes one, but it generally needs to be configured in the frontend to be able to start a game. IF you still need to obtain an emulator, you can get one here http://vice-emu.sourceforge.net/macosx.html
Napstrophe
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:16 pm

Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:16 am

That is correct, the Play Games button is unavailable. I have the emulator configured. I downloaded the gb64v08 database and dropped the folder into the gambase64 browser asks. I must be leaving something out or do not have the correct files or something?
User avatar
Mayhem
GB64 Team
Contact:
Location: Londonish
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:44 am

Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:28 pm

Sounds like you need to download all the games as well.

This torrent should help
Lie with passion and be forever damned...
Napstrophe
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:16 pm

Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:45 am

I have the gb64 database but my frontend is not finding the game files. Maybe I need to rename the folder or create subfolders. It's different for the mac version of gamebase64 and I can't find any instructions for it.
User avatar
Mayhem
GB64 Team
Contact:
Location: Londonish
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:44 am

Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:53 am

So you have downloaded all the game files too? Unfortunately I've never used the Mac version of the frontend, so can't help.
Lie with passion and be forever damned...

Return to “GB64 Help!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest