Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Gemus problem.

Discuss GameBase, the Universal Emulator Frontend!

Moderator: Jimbo

Bilbo
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:17 pm

Gemus problem.

Wed May 06, 2015 1:54 pm

Hi.
I am trying to set up GB64 4 disk set, that i downloaded from its
links posted here in the forum.

I installed gamebase frontend and then installed the GB64 v13 exe,
amd then copied over all of the other folders from the disks to
complete the setup.

I installed several emulators for the C64 as i have the legal emus
of C64 forever 2014 and fully updated. I have run the Gamebase
toolkit and added the Gamebase GBC v13, right clicked on the mdb
and sekected Database settings.

I then ran the Gamebase front end and selected GEMUS>Manage
Emulators and on the pop up window as an area where it loads a
Gemus Script. This is where i am stuck as when i click the Load
Button and the small window opens titled Gemus, there is nothing
to select within the window.

Any help on this will be very much appreciated.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Wed May 06, 2015 2:58 pm

Have you installed/ extracted all the emulators to the c64 GameBase directory.

if so...

Run GameBase and from the menu select...
GEMUS, Emulator setup wizard.

from the menu browse to and select the root directory of all the installed emulators.

example
C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\

All the sub folders will be searched for compatible emulator.EXE files, and auto configured ready for use.

the settings will be saved in the emulators.ini.

it should look like this example.

Code: Select all

[Emulators]
1=CCS64 v3.9.1
2=Hoxs64 v1.0.8.7 (x86)
3=WinVICE v2.4 (x86)
4=WinVICE v2.4 SC (x86)
5=CCS64 v3.9.1 (Win9x)
6=
[Hoxs64 v1.0.8.7 (x86)]
UseShortFilenames=1
SupportedTypes=G64;FDI;D64;TAP;P00;PRG;T64
EmulatorPathFile=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\hoxs64_x86_1_0_8_7\hoxs64.exe
ScriptFile=Hoxs64.txt
UseDefaultTypes=0
WaitFinish=1
1=
[WinVICE v2.4 (x86)]
UseShortFilenames=1
SupportedTypes=D64;D71;D80;D81;D82;G64;G41;X64;T64;P00;TAP;PRG;CRT
EmulatorPathFile=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\WinVICE-2.4-x86\x64.exe
ScriptFile=WinVICE.txt
1=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\WinVICE-2.4-x86\vice.ini
UseDefaultTypes=0
WaitFinish=1
2=
[WinVICE v2.4 SC (x86)]
UseShortFilenames=1
SupportedTypes=D64;D71;D80;D81;D82;G64;G41;X64;T64;P00;TAP;PRG;CRT
EmulatorPathFile=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\WinVICE-2.4-x86\x64sc.exe
ScriptFile=WinVICE-SC.txt
1=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\WinVICE-2.4-x86\vice.ini
UseDefaultTypes=0
WaitFinish=1
2=
[CCS64 v3.9.1]
UseShortFilenames=1
SupportedTypes=D64;G64;G41;T64;P00;TAP;PRG;CRT
EmulatorPathFile=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\CCS64 V3.9.1 Offical\CCS64.exe
ScriptFile=CCS64.txt
1=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\CCS64 V3.9.1 Offical\c64.cfg
UseDefaultTypes=0
WaitFinish=1
2=
[CCS64 v3.9.1 (Win9x)]
UseShortFilenames=1
SupportedTypes=D64;G64;G41;T64;P00;TAP;PRG;CRT
EmulatorPathFile=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\CCS64 V3.9.1 Offical\CCS64-2005.exe
ScriptFile=CCS64.txt
1=C:\GameBase\GBC_v13\Emulators\CCS64 V3.9.1 Offical\c64.cfg
UseDefaultTypes=0
WaitFinish=1
2=
Bilbo
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:17 pm

Wed May 06, 2015 4:39 pm

Hi Mad.

When i try to setup using the emulator wizard, i get:

The Wizard could not find Gemus.dat in your GameBase folder.

I looked inside the GBC_v13 folder that is within the Gamebase
folder and there is a gemus.dat file of 31kb. So for some reason i
think that it is not being seen.

Thank you for your kind help and expetice so far.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Wed May 06, 2015 5:56 pm

could be the install folder / location you are using.

do your folders look like this example?

http://www.gb64.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... ght=#23532
Bilbo
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:17 pm

Thu May 07, 2015 5:13 pm

Thanks Mad.

Realised what a muppet i was being. When i installed gamebase
i actually installed the gamebase v1.3 update, thinking that i
needed to install that as well.

Anyway i did a complete uninstall of both the frontend and the
GBC_v13. Did a re-install of gamebase and GBC_v13 onto my P:
Drive (which i like for my emulation stuff,) and it worked. Just got
to figure how to include Cloantos C64 Emulator in the mix.

Really great help from you. No doubt i will be needing some
more help sooner or later.

Thanks.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1600
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Thu May 07, 2015 5:56 pm

Bilbo wrote: Just got
to figure how to include Cloantos C64 Emulator in the mix.

Really great help from you. No doubt i will be needing some
more help sooner or later.
I thought Cloantos C64 Forever used a version of WinVICE.
The WinVICE version in GameBase will be newer and better.

Just send it to me (PM link).
and i will see if i can add it to the gemus.dat.
groepaz
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:26 pm

Fri May 08, 2015 12:19 am

C64forever is a bastardized WinVICE indeed, there is very little point in using both
Bilbo
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:17 pm

Sun May 10, 2015 11:41 am

Thanks guys.
After messing with it for a few hours, i have decided not to
use Cloanto as it really does mess up very badly.

As you stated it is a messed up version of WinVice, so i will
use the latest WinVice and maybe one of two other C64 emus.

Thanks again.

Return to “The GameBase Frontend”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests