Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

GameBase Amiga 2.0

Discuss the Commodore Amiga database that uses the GameBase Frontend.

Moderator: Jimbo

Belgarath
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:32 am

Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:42 am

I've just had a quick look at one of the packs on that ftp and by the looks of it they won't work with GameBase Amiga.

GB Amiga expects the files to be zipped and have certain names.

I'm not a big fan of mega.nz (although it's better than a lot of online storage sites) but I'd still suggest you get them from the link Retroplay kindly provided.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sun Dec 27, 2015 3:47 pm

Some Download links for those that want it.
no emulator or kickstart included.

Gamebase files - MDB updated for merged disk set (original included)
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fi ... 2450428387

Screenshots (82MB)
https://mega.nz/#!OpADgQxZ!G117w9HjUi2S ... _giA5raw0I

Games - **Merged Disk Set**
*Just need to extract and rezip them into single archives for original mdb.

#-C (578MB)
https://mega.nz/#!z0AzmZoI!uWbZFnyjgPRT ... mbLVBNqmTA

D-J (592MB)
https://mega.nz/#!O152DABA!HEHTUG3OsRLR ... 4x_XiSYX6k

K-R (655MB)
https://mega.nz/#!v9xgiB4Q!sVPrwEaWniyk ... cD013bL3-k

S-Z (606MB)
https://mega.nz/#!ztJzyKgK!frOsC8-XNClX ... KvPxY6lboc
cribber
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:25 am

Sun Dec 27, 2015 4:22 pm

.mad. wrote: Gamebase files - MDB updated for merged disk set (original included)

Games - **Merged Disk Set**
Looks like you didn't read Mine or Belgarath's post in time. Looks like you spent your time extracting all the multi-disk games, renaming them, re-zipping them etc, for nothing LOL :shock:

When you start a multi disk game they are all inserted into the WinUAE diskswapper. When you want to change disks, hold END and press the number of the disk it asks you to insert into DF0:, for example :-

When asked to "Insert Disk 4", you would hold down END + 4.

There was no need to repack all the games just so you could find the next disk easily/quickly. Good times.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sun Dec 27, 2015 5:31 pm

cribber wrote: Looks like you didn't read Mine or Belgarath's post in time. Looks like you spent your time extracting all the multi-disk games, renaming them, re-zipping them etc, for nothing LOL
i wouldn't say 5 mins was a lot to create a batch file. :roll:
And not for nothing, because now the game files are just as i like them on my drive.

so it's good times all round. :lol:
cribber
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:25 am

Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:31 pm

.mad. wrote:
cribber wrote: Looks like you didn't read Mine or Belgarath's post in time. Looks like you spent your time extracting all the multi-disk games, renaming them, re-zipping them etc, for nothing LOL
i wouldn't say 5 mins was a lot to create a batch file. :roll:
And not for nothing, because now the game files are just as i like them on my drive.

so it's good times all round. :lol:
I'm just joking with you but still wonder why you bothered to change from Belgarath's format when you can change disks without even opening WinUAE. Are you just following GamebaseST's structure ?
Belgarath
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 10:32 am

Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:02 pm

I do have to say that as much as I appreciate all .mad's work I absolutely 100% do NOT recommend using merged filesets.

Having GameBase unzip the games is not a good idea, it's best to let WinUAE handle them, all zips are loaded into the diskswapper and there is no problem changing disks at all.

edit: it also means changing the filetypes in the gamebase emulator setup from zip to adf, if you leave it as zip the diskswapper won't function at all using merged sets

edit2 : at least I now know why he's called .mad :D
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:16 pm

cribber wrote: I'm just joking with you but still wonder why you bothered to change from Belgarath's format when you can change disks without even opening WinUAE. Are you just following GamebaseST's structure ?
Hi Cribber

I am well aware of the swap trick.

But i am a bit OCD (.mad.), the files MUST be in the GameBase format on my drive. Just like all my other GameBases.

One file /archive per Game just seems right.

This way GameBase takes control of the ZIP and Re-Zipping (not the emulator).
If i choose to save a high score directly to the disk, not via the emulator save state, or see what bytes have changed to compare with the original, i can.

Also if i want to use another emulator (maybe in the future) without the WinUAE swap feature.
When i play a game, i know exactly where the all the disks will be...
in the GBGAME folder.

Merry Christmas.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:27 pm

Hi Belgarath,

I should be able to make your Gamebase work using the WHDLoad PACK mentioned... if you like.

If the WHD's work from the unzipped state (in the same folders as the pack), it will be very easy to just cut and paste the new names into the mdb.

if they need to be LHA or ZIP for WHDRUN to work.
i would need to make a batch file to rezip them with the correct info file included.


-
oops, i missed adding ADF to the emu file types, for the merged set.
it will work 100% with the disk swapper or manual disk swap.
It's not a problem, only a choice. :wink:

Did i say?,
LOVE the GameBase!.
User avatar
Brataccas
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 1:53 am

Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:04 pm

Thank you Belgarath for putting this together! And thanks also to .mad for making the download links - merged or unmerged, it's very helpful to get the giant files from mega.nz!
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:51 am

GameBase Amiga V2.0 - Extras Pack#1 [580MB]

Contains
Cover Scans, Hint, Tips, Cheats & Walkthroughs, Instructions, MP3.

https://mega.nz/#!X4AxjIoQ!Wpchqx5EoUeU ... UM4S57NuBY

looked into the WHDLoad Pack v2.4 on the FTP.
This GameBase will work by renaming the main WHD ZIP filename with the WHD DIR name in the MDB.
The contents of the packs are identical to RetroPlay's files, with the ones i have checked so far.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:04 am

Found this, so get get it while while you can!
it might not last long.

IPF [3 GB]
*file deleted*

Tools, info and the Missing disks needed to convert them to 100% GameBase.

http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=340 ... 2668421445
Last edited by .mad. on Sat Mar 12, 2016 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
nscxp2005
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:45 pm

Wed Dec 30, 2015 1:59 pm

Thanks .mad.

Will you be releasing the updated mdb file to work with RetroPlay's WHDLoad collection?
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:02 pm

nscxp2005 wrote:Thanks .mad.

Will you be releasing the updated mdb file to work with RetroPlay's WHDLoad collection?
At the moment i think the GameBase uses all RetroPlays filenames. But they need to be all in ZIPs.
(you need to repack any LHA)

i have made my copy work with the official WHD packs (v2.4)
all these packs where extracted and updated in order.
Then repacked to single ZIPs.
I edited the MBD with any new filenames in the updated WHD.

so now i have WHDLoad in 4 folders like this...

WHDLoad - 2942

WHDLoad_AGA - 304

WHDLoad_Amiga - 13 amiga unpack only.
These contain filenames which are reserved by the Windows OS (THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED!!)
"con" & "com1" to "com9" (with any file extension)
Fixed them ALL for GameBase! :)
They alll run now, but no guarantee of 100%.

WHDLoad_Retroplay - 22
These are ones not included in the WHD 2.4 pack.

i can show you instructions how to create the same pack as mine.
Using the 13 part 200MB WHD 2.0 files
Update Packs - 2.1, 2.2 , 2.3, 2.4.
WHDLoad_AGA with updates on the FTP.

Then i will upload my MDB for the merged disk set, repacked WHDLoad and SPS.
And upload anything else you are missing from the verify. 8)
nscxp2005
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:45 pm

Wed Dec 30, 2015 4:27 pm

That would be awesome .mad.!!!

I would love to get the same set as you.

Thanks
cribber
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:25 am

Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:02 pm

Thanks Belgarath.
Last edited by cribber on Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Commodore Amiga - GameBase Amiga”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest