GameBase - 7zip and Windows 10

Discuss GameBase, the Universal Emulator Frontend!

Moderator: Jimbo

millansoft
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 5:47 am

GameBase - 7zip and Windows 10

Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:22 am

Hello,

I was having trouble with GameBase and Windows 10 and its permissions. I suspect a bit of the old version of 7zip that is using GameBase, but if I put the last one (16.02), GameBase seems that doesnt like it.
Anyone has tried to update the 7zip version in the GameBase or knows why seems to be incompatible? Maybe a different cmd argument?

Thanks
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sat Sep 10, 2016 12:16 pm

yes the new version of 7z requires slightly different switches.

GameBase uses this command to extract
7z x mercenary.7z -yro %gbpath%

new version of 7z needs separate switches
7z x mercenary.7z -y -r -o %gbpath%

i could recompile gamebase with the new 7z switches.
But i don't think it will fix your Win10 problems. :roll:

have you tried opening a Command window and extracting a 7z file manually, with the gb version of 7z.

7z x file.7z -yr

if that works?.
You need to give that 7z.exe admin rights to run and alter files in the Win10 security settings.

-
Updated GEMUS.DLL for latest 7z.exe.
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fi ... 6815418127

copy / overwrite files in your GameBase install.
millansoft
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 5:47 am

Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:25 am

Thanks .mad for the update of 7zip, you were right about the permissions aren't the problem. I lost about three hours looking at microsoft tech forums and a lot of people with same problems in Windows 10, I'm going to format the drive in a Windows 7 machine to avoid all this problems and forget about it.

Return to “The GameBase Frontend”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests