Gamebase 64 Forum

RegisterRegister Log inLog in

commodore vic-20 database?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    -= GB64 Forum =- Forum Index -> Commodore Vic20 - GameBaseVIC20
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sjakie 43
Guest







PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 9:37 am    Post subject: commodore vic-20 database? Reply with quote

does anyone want to start a vic-20 gamebase?

please let me know, i want to help

i cannot do much but i can help with screenshots/games testing .
or something like that!

come on you vic-20 FANS! icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
wlnelson
New Member


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 26
GB64-Points: 26
Location: westminster, colorado USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 4:11 pm    Post subject: database. Reply with quote

I aslo would like to help.

does anyone have a collection of games and files for the vic-20?

wlnelson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Guest








PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, cartridges, pgr files ,taps

cartridges(0.30)
would be nice to start with , need covers scans

JOIN me
Back to top
Guest








PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, the vic has different memory modes,
unexp,4k,8k,16k enz

so i do not know how to do this,

Help please! i have an empty gamebase called GBvic20 and that's it!

icon_confused.gif
Back to top
J2003C
GB64 Team


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 916
GB64-Points: 916
Location: Just South of Hell

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm setting up a database for VIC20, but it is for others to add the games, screenshot & extras. I've set up the emulators (WinVICE, VICE DOS and Pfau Zeh) and changes the fields and images to be VIC20 specific. I've set up a key=value pair for memory settings, but am still working on getting all the different multi-part cartdridges to auto attach. Give me a couplemore days.

Workin on this database will be frustrating, since many of the games have never been transferred to the PC. There isn't nearly the following of emu users as there is for the C64.
_________________
-J2010C-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest








PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

very good !

i hope i can help,

i am not a programmer but i hope i can be of any help

let me know

greetz

sjakie 43 icon_lol.gif
Back to top
J2003C
GB64 Team


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 916
GB64-Points: 916
Location: Just South of Hell

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's what I have so far. There are 10 sample entries with the games and some extras. Set it up for VICE (or WinVICE), since that is the best emu right now. Download VIC20.zip (a few clicks away) and unzip it into the Program Files folder:
http://www.geocities.com/charroux/c64files/special.html

Instructions for how to set the VIC20 specific memory and cart settings are in the VICE GEMUS scripts.

The thing I really need help with is why VICE (xvic) gives the error "Cannot startup logging system." for multi-cartrige games (many VIC20 games). Try Ms. Pac Man in with VICE to see the error.
_________________
-J2010C-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest








PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i have downloaded the vic 20 file
added the games and linked the screenshots!
only alien attack an vic q-bert are working at the moment
the only use full thing i can do is ad games and screenshots i think...
let me know what's happening plz

sjakie 43 icon_lol.gif
Back to top
Guest








PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi again,

i have the vic 20 tosec (0.30) here
all PGR files i think

1212 files to add?

let me know what ya want

sjakie 43

ps.last reply was mine too icon_lol.gif
Back to top
J2003C
GB64 Team


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 916
GB64-Points: 916
Location: Just South of Hell

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about starting with getting the 10 games already there working on your system. They all work with WinVICE the way they are configured, if you get the paths and script files setup correctly.
_________________
-J2010C-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, the scripts..... i need some help here but if you explain some things then it should work OK.

alien attack unexp pgr runs ok standard
cloud burst cartr A000
donkey kong cartr A000
GORF cartr A000
lode runner cartr 6000
matrix 8k pgr
ms pacman cartr 6000
vic invader pgr not working?
vic q-bert unexp pgr runs ok standard
zorgons kingdom 8k D64

so i checked the settings but i do not know how to put this in script
what must i do >help

i will wait...
sjakie 43 icon_confused.gif
Back to top
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I GOT IT......

i have 9 games working with the cart=a000 cart2, memory=8k enz
in the key=value pairs
quite simple actually icon_rolleyes.gif

this all in WINvice 1.14

only one game left that won't work with winvice
vic invader<<<suggestions?

sjakie 43

icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

strange,,,,

i have a collection of games too, but i cannot find vicinvader in my collection.
why?
because winvice cannot attach this pgr file.......i got from ya.

i was looking for a copy so i could check this..... icon_mad.gif

it's late, maybe it's me

sjakie43
i thought that vic invader is a cartridge only?
icon_confused.gif
Back to top
J2003C
GB64 Team


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 916
GB64-Points: 916
Location: Just South of Hell

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you started out wrong. Take the VIC20.ZIP file and extract ALL FILES to the Program Files folder (make sure "use folder names" is selected in WinZip). Start GameBase, if you do not see screenshots, then from the menu, select GameBase->VIC20. Go to Tools->Paths... and set the paths as ...\GameBase\VIC20\Screenshots, etc.

Select GEMUS->WinVICE v1.14 and set the Script Files (vice.ini) and Emulator Path\Fileneme (xvic.exe) to your VICE path. All 10 games are already preconfigured for you with screenshots, memory settings, extras, infos and cartridge addresses, and are ready to run/test.

When starting VIC Invaders, you will notice the comment on the 6th line that says "REM SYS6793 TO START". That means you type SYS7693 to start the game. I specifically included this game, as it is different from the other prg files, as it does not auto-boot or start with RUN. There are many, many VIC20 games on the web, like this one, that take a lot of searching to find (http://www.kdef.com/geek/vic/). I converted what I could from this collection to run on the C64.

PS. Try registering your name in the forum.
_________________
-J2010C-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 276
GB64-Points: 276
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi !


Its all working now. icon_surprised.gif

i have registered too

i forgot the vic.ini

stupid me icon_confused.gif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    -= GB64 Forum =- Forum Index -> Commodore Vic20 - GameBaseVIC20 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
Cannot post new topics
Cannot reply to topics
Cannot edit your posts
Cannot delete your posts
Cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

The C64 Banner Exchange
The C64 Banner Exchange

gb64.com ©1997-2014 The GB64 Team