Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

commodore vic-20 database?

Discuss the Commodore VIC20 database that uses the GameBase Frontend.

Moderator: Jimbo

sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

getting started

Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:24 am

OK, that means that i can get to work now 8)

thanks very much to the GB64 Team! :D

a dream come true :lol:


i hope that there comes a solution for the logging error...

bye
Xanadu
New Member
Location: England
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:48 pm

Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:56 pm

Here is a popular Vic-20 forum called DENIAL

It would be great if we could all help out with this new Gamebase for the Vic-20!

http://sleepingelephant.com/ipw-web/bul ... /index.php

:)
Xanadu
New Member
Location: England
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:48 pm

Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:57 pm

Forgot to mention

This site has 330 original TAP files for the Vic-20

http://www.theoldcomputer.com/Libarary% ... ummary.htm
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic-20

Mon Aug 09, 2004 8:10 pm

i am making a start now with the tosec 0.30

all pgr files so it should be easy to get them to work
i will ad them and add the screenshots

i need some help with the extra/covers and maybe even magazines.

i have no website so maybe some wants to JOIN?

mail me :)
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic-20

Mon Aug 09, 2004 8:16 pm

i will also download the TAPS earlier mentioned

or does xanadu wants to work on the TAP Section?

let me know please
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic-20

Mon Aug 09, 2004 8:22 pm

maybe it's a good idea too do section by section?

we can start on the TAPS if that's better

suggestions needed
Xanadu
New Member
Location: England
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:48 pm

Wed Aug 11, 2004 12:20 am

skakie43

Might be worth talking to Anders Carlsson for some advice on this gamebase, he seems to be the Vic-20 technical guru nowadays

I always thought TAP images were best because they are pure copies of original tapes and so retain 100% of the tape data

but they are big though which may be a problem for some people ? That tape archive I mentioned amounts to nearly 50megs!!

In some cases like single loading programs, using a small PRG file is just as good as a bulky TAP file so maybe we can mix them up ? I dunno, the decision is for you skakie43 this is your show and I am happy to help. At the moment I am trying to buy original rare cassettes which we can then archive to add as well
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic 20

Wed Aug 11, 2004 12:56 pm

thanks for joining xanadu!!

well, about the TAP images:::they will be added sooner or later,
but maybe we can start with just the PGR files.

i have the vic 20 tosec 0.30 that contains 1200+ images

should be about ?? games because some games have a few versions.
i can add the games and screenshots for a start

need some help with gemus script because there is a little bug still in it.

it does work but you get an error report you can click through.

something about logging system?
if someone knows how to fix this i will be glad to hear from ya


i also need someone to host
all welcome! :D

greets

sjakie 43
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic 20

Wed Aug 11, 2004 2:11 pm

i have started adding games and screenshots

need some help later on with some game details, year/publisher
cover scans, extra's


the logging system error that appeared with the test setup
does only appear with cartridges i think
so that gives some time to find it out

regards

sjakie 43
:D
User avatar
J2003C
GB64 Team
Location: Just South of Hell
Posts: 916
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 7:57 pm

Wed Aug 11, 2004 7:02 pm

You can always make the TAP images an Extra when a smaller game file is available (like GB64). When nothing else is available, then just use the TAP as the main game file. Also, lots of the games on tape (like the Cassette50 games) are in 100% BASIC and can be converted to prg (saved to disk) quite easily.

I sent an error report to the VICE team to look into the logging error popup when attaching cartdridges on the command line.
-J2010C-
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic 20

Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:29 pm

hello again,

thanks again ! :)

i also have a little problem:

when i use winvice (xvic.exe) directly then al the settings are saved,
(save on exit)
but when i start it from gamebase the joystick settings are not !

the rest of the settings are saved so this is a bit strange?

sjakie43 :?
User avatar
J2003C
GB64 Team
Location: Just South of Hell
Posts: 916
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 7:57 pm

Re: gamebase vic 20

Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:58 pm

sjakie43 wrote:when i use winvice (xvic.exe) directly then al the settings are saved,
(save on exit)
but when i start it from gamebase the joystick settings are not !
the rest of the settings are saved so this is a bit strange?
sjakie43 :?
This is standard with most of the GB GEMUS scripts. Just go into the WinVICE script (GEMUS->WinVICE in the menu) and comment out the "set game contols" section with ';' (semicolons).

Also, the VICE Team said they have fixed the "logging error" bug, but we'll have to wait for the v1.15 release.
-J2010C-
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic 20

Fri Aug 13, 2004 12:07 pm

Ok, that's very nice !

hoping it does not take too long for a new release of winvice. :)

i have checked the device settings in the gemus script and it's
OK now . :D


Thanks

Sjakie43
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic 20 progress

Fri Aug 20, 2004 11:59 pm

Well, it's hard for a noob like me but there is progress! :)


I have added 300/400+ games and working on the screenshots.

i put all games in and will use the PGR files for standard.
then the TAPS and CARTS in extra;

if you have any suggestions or want to join me >>>>>> :shock:


greets 8)
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

gamebase vic 20

Sat Aug 21, 2004 12:03 am

and off course::

when there is no PGR file for a game then the TAP will be standard.

ok, that's it>>goodnight :wink:

Return to “Commodore Vic20 - GameBaseVIC20”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests